Viewing A Midsummer Night’s Dream

I’ll keep this short and sweet:

How is it that I have never watched the 1999 film version of A Midsummer Night’s Dream before today?  First, it’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream.  Second, it stars a pre-Dark-Knight Christian Bale.

Of all the Shakespearean films that I have viewed thus far this year, it is my favorite.  I’ve seen that it gets a lot of mixed reviews from critics, but can I be honest?  I liked this much more than the critically acclaimed Romeo + Juliet.  It held my interest far longer than West Side Story. I found it more accessible than either of the Royal Shakespeare Company adaptations that I’ve viewed.

I fear that the only thing that will top it is a movie that I already know that I like–10 Things I Hate About You–which I will be viewing after I read The Taming of the Shrew.

One thought on “Viewing A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Leave a Reply

