R&J Texting Assignment (2.2)

If I had to pick one assignment that was the most fun to grade all year, I’d probably pick the 2.2 – Text Conversation after the Balcony Scene from last night.  My kids were creative, and it was a quick and easy way to assess whether they understood the scene and whether they understand the language.  Here is a sample from Anthony:
Romeo: Hey, Benvolio.  I’m still up.  What of you?

Benvolio: Romeo?  Ay me!  Where are you?  Where did you go last night?  Are you home safe?

R: Patience cousin.  You and Mercutio laughed at things you could not know unless you loved.*

B: It was all in fun.  Now where did you go?

R: I went to see a woman more beautiful than the moon, brighter than the stars.  She is the sun to all my dark thoughts.**

B: Rosaline?  Really?  After that whole party filled with hot girls you still are going for her?

R: Not her!  She’s but a crow to the woman I truly love.

B: Good.  So who is she that you left the orchard walls to see so late?

R: A woman who, had I spoken before I did, I would not have been able to hear her confession of love for me. ***

B: Enough waiting.  Who’s stolen dear Romeo’s heart?

R: She is the daughter of Capulet’s.  Her name is Juliet.

B: You’re $@#%-ing INSANE!  CAPULET’S DAUGHTER!!! YOU WILL BE DEAD BY TOMORROW’S EVENING!

R: Maybe, maybe not.  We’ll see.

B: See you in hell…

R: Maybe, or see you in heaven.

*”He jests at scars that never felt a wound.”

**”It is the east and Juliet is the sun! / Arise fair sun and kill the envious moon” and “Two of the fairest stars in all the heaven / Having some business do entreat her eyes / To twinkle in their spheres till they return.”

***”Shall I hear more, or shall I speak at this?”

In a bit, I’ll post about today’s class period. (:

Leave a Reply

