No Fear Shakespeare: Romeo & Juliet

Voila_Capture32Recently, my team teacher and I were gifted with Romeo and Juliet resources:

  • Two graphic novels
  • Children’s story book
  • A guide with three weeks of R&J lesson plans
  • Folger’s Shakespeare Set Free

Needing a book to read, I took one of the two graphic novels home to enjoy.

No Fear Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet is going to be a great resource for my students.  Many of my students have a difficult time reading, because they don’t have that “movie in their head” while the read.  For these struggling readers–as well as for those who are just having a difficult time with the language–I think this graphic novel will be a great bridging piece.  While it does not use Shakespeare’s original language, I felt that the book’s translation was not overly simplified and kept true to the text.  (The footnotes with further explanations of words and phrases were also helpful.)

I think I can use this in a few ways:

  1. It can be in my classroom library, available for students to pick up and preview the text.  (For homework every night they would be reading the modern translation in their books as a preview for the next day’s work in class.  If a student wants to read this instead, that’s absolutely fine.)
  2. I might scan pages and show them on our SMART Board to help clarify difficult scenes.
  3. I’m thinking that it would be interesting to have students create their own “graphic novel” of a scene.  This could serve as a model.
Leave a Reply

