BBC’s Off by Heart Shakespeare

Is anyone familiar with BBC’s Off by Heart Shakespeare?  Apparently it’s a Shakespeare recital contest for UK teens.  What I love is that even though my students cannot participate–for I am, alas, in the States–BBC and the RSC have provided some amazing resources for teachers.  Here are a few that I’m incorporating into my lessons:

Videos:

  1. The Balcony Scene (2.2)
  2. Mercutio’s Death Scene (3.1)
  3. Juliet (3.2)
  4. Lord Capulet (3.5)

Teaching Resources:

  1. Primary History: William Shakespeare
  2. Shakespeare Unlocked (If only the videos worked for me here in the States.  Any suggestions?)
  3. Activities to Explore Language and Meaning
Leave a Reply

