Manga Shakespeare and Other News

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 9.12.34 PMToday, I read my first manga–and it just so happened to be Romeo and Juliet.  One of the student teachers on campus heard that I was participating in the Globe Shakespeare Academy and that I would be teaching Romeo and Juliet soon.  He brought this by saying, “I thought you might like it!”

So this evening, I sat down next to my video game-playing husband, and read through it within the hour.  Of note:

  • Ok, so manga is kind of fun to read.  I also now have something to talk to a few of my students about.  (They’ll be so proud!)
  • This particular version did keep Shakespeare’s language.  I thought that the author did a good job deciding what lines to keep and what lines to scratch, keeping the overall story fairly well intact.
  • I liked some of the choices that the illustrator made.  As I read, the illustrations made me re-examine my own interpretations of some scenes.
  • If you haven’t read Shakespeare’s original text, I could see this getting a bit confusing.  It might be fun to refer a few of my students to, however, after we finish reading the play.

In other news:

  • I finished re-reading the actual play last night.  I forgot how fun Shakespeare is to read, and am really excited to get to reading the other four plays that I need to familiarize myself with before London.
  • I’ve identified several activities from Shakespeare Set Free that I want to include in my teaching of the play.  For someone who has never taught Shakespeare before, it is really proving to be a valuable resource.  I’ll probably end up purchasing my own copy, rather than just borrowing it from my coworker as I am now.
  • I have a tentative schedule for our Romeo and Juliet project.  I’ll probably fine tune it a bit before posting it here.
  • I’ve also located an A&E Biography of William Shakespeare, and have requested it from my local library.  I’m hoping that it arrives by Friday so that I can take some time to view it this weekend.

All in all, we’re definitely on track to start this project on April 1, the day we return from Spring Break.

Leave a Reply

