Pleasant Surprises

photo Today was a day of pleasant surprises.

Since my first workshop at Mondavi is at the end of the month, I’ve started the recruitment process for finding students who would like to learn with me.  I have five students interested, and since I have space for only four in my car I’m thinking about doing a rotation so that everyone will get at least two chances to attend.  One of these students did not bring me her permission slip today, but instead brought me her grandmother’s Shakespeare Library (in Ten Volumes) to borrow.  It’s awesome!  All of Shakespeare’s plays currently reside on my desk in tiny little books.  Her gesture completely made my day–as did her excitement in showing me what she had found in her grandmother’s home.  I’m loving that she is just as excited as I am.

Later on my prep period, I was opening Jim Burke’s What’s the Big Idea?: Question Driven Units to Motivate Reading, Writing, and Thinking because I remembered that I wanted to incorporate some of his ideas into my upcoming Of Mice and Men project.  Instead of opening to his chapter focused on Of Mice and Men, my fingers found his chapter on Romeo and Juliet!  I had completely forgotten that that chapter existed.  I’ll be reading it through shortly, and you can rest assured that I will be posting my thoughts, insights, ideas, and learning.

Leave a Reply

