Beyond Excited

Last week, I attended the orientation for the Globe Education Academy, and all I can say is that I am beyond excited to get going. Important dates have been marked on my calendar.  The wheels are turning concerning what Shakespearean dramas might appeal most to my 9th graders–I’m leaning towards Romeo and Juliet or The Taming of the Shrew.  I’ve also been excitedly pondering how to select students to join me during the series of Spring workshops at the Mondavi Center.

Yes, I get to bring students to a professional development opportunity!  This was one of the major reasons why I applied for the program.  So many times, we as teachers attend workshops and conferences on our own, learn interesting things, come back to our classrooms, and change nothing at all.  The prospect of bringing students with me to such an opportunity changes all of that.  My students are learning with me.  We are partners, both in my training as a teacher and their learning as students.  They know what I’ve been taught, and they can help me bring it back to the classroom.  Absolutely amazing.

I can’t wait to get started!  February 25 cannot come fast enough…

Leave a Reply

